WhatsApp is an app currently used by over 1 billion people in more than 180 countries. It has become a very popular way of communication among friends, family members, colleagues, and others. We can easily and quickly share photos, videos, all sorts of documents, make a video or phone calls, and create groups in which we can add as many people as we like. Apps like WhatsApp revolutionized the way we use our smartphones. Text messages are kind of a thing of the past, while the Internet is now offering us everything we need to communicate.
WhatsApp groups enable us to send messages to a bigger number of people at once. We can update each other easily, organize more efficiently, and simply stay in touch with many people at the same time. Groups save us from passing the information from person to person and forgetting the details in the process by connecting us at the same place and letting us communicate with all of the members of the group. So, how do you join the group?
You should start by asking the group admin to send you an invitation link. The admin can do that via any messaging or social media app. Admin has to copy the link which they can find by clicking on “About group”, selecting “Add participant”, and finally selecting “Invite to group via link.” Then admin can simply copy the link and send it to whomever they wish to add to the group, it’s that simple. Alternatively, they can also share a group invite using a QR code by selecting “Menu” and then “Print QR code”. In case you own an iPhone you can scan the QR code with your smartphone camera, while Android users can use a third-party code reader. Admin can revoke the link any time making it invalid and creating a new one. You can always read more if you wish to familiarize yourself with WhatsApp and similar apps better.
Once you received the link, whether it was sent via email, text message, or in a chat message, click on it. This will open the WhatsApp messenger and open a pop-up window on your screen. In case you’re unsure about who invited you to the group, you can check this by looking at the name of the creator of the group right under the group name. Also, you can always check who else is in the group by clicking on “Participants.”
When creating groups, admins will select people that they want to add to the group in which case you will not receive an invitation link, but you’ll simply be notified that you’ve been added to the group.
Admin of the group can always add certain restrictions if they wish. That means they can restrict what others are allowed to change in the group. They can do this by simply tapping on the group name and selecting “Group settings.” Then, by selecting “Edit group info,” they can restrict who can change the group’s subject, icon, and description. Also, they can choose who can send messages to the group’s chat.